Saturday, 24 October 2009

Merc is alive?

Ahem so yeah. It's been a WHILE. Like months. My Bad. Recently things have happened, but enough of that boring shit, I wanna talk about talking.

There is truly nothing in the world that pisses me off more than people responding again and again with a generic response. These include "mmh", "ok", "lol" and "yeah" or any variations thereof. It's annoying, especially when you're trying to have a proper conversation with someone for reasons including being bored, needy or just needing to take your mind off of something. All other reasons are NOT VALID. Yes, that was sarcasm. Anyway, I don't get why people do this, if you can't think of anything to say then don't say anything, if you're busy then SAY SO (there was that one embarrasing incident where I interrupted someone using their battery powered friend, you know how you are) OR put some effort in and reply, people TEND to be more important than your game of solitare or whatever. It's annoying and somewhat rude, rather like PYROS.

Ahem. Yes well anyway, it's 03:46 (04:46 really, the clocks just went back) and I'm sitting here writing this small pile of musings because I have nothing better to do. In related news, the repeated use of the words "gay" and "FAG" as insults can be roughly translated as "I'm a moron with nothing to offer society and shouldn't be allowed to breed." see also George W Bush.

Hark, what was that? POLITICS? Yes in this post I also want to talk about the recent appearance of Nick Griffin on BBC1's Question Time. While it was a great jolly to laugh at the aforementioned meatsack's misfortune, he did raise some interesting points. His frequent defense of "I was misquoted" while not actually true is a fairly common occurance in the media and it often causes misunderstandings of various people. These various people not including Nick Griffin, who's views can be quickly summarised by the words "Racist" and "Twat".

In conclusion, this country cannot be run by a man who's views on the world are "PAKIS GO HOME!"

I'm going to go die of the illness of tiredness now, goodbye.

Merc

Monday, 1 June 2009

It's been a while...

Christ it really has. Looking back I appear to have been a very angry man. I guess that's changed a bit thanks to some good people in life.

It's 03:19 at the moment and I know I will pay for this tomorrow, but I care not, for I'm pretty calm and relaxed at the moment, so it's all good.

Anyways. Recent events. I've been cackling like a Witch at Halloween while following the political upset the recent expenses issue has caused. It seems that no-one is safe from the s**tstorm. What's really silly is that this has been going on for years and it would have KEPT going on if it hadn't become a hot-button topic. So you're all sorry now are you? Well that's very well and good, but why did you do it in the first place? If you actually cared then it never would have happened, would it. That's our money you've been wasting these past years, while schools were dismissing teachers because the Conservative's budget cuts, while you continued to feed at the trough like pigs.

That's another thing that's irritated me recently. All the hype about swine flu. It's not a nice illness I know, but to the western world it's not that dangerous because of the healthcare systems in place. The only problem it will cause is if it gets into an area such as Africa and spreads, because it will kill thousands. Without being nasty thats probably a good thing, because the remaining population will have a better chance at survival and a good life. A similar thing happened because of the bubonic plague in this country. After the plague wages increased and quality of living improved because the population density was lower. It'll also be a disaster if it gets into China, for the same reasons.

Moving away from current affairs and back into the tech world: Valve have released the Spy and Sniper updates for Team Fortress 2, and the game is now rather unbalanced. They've also announced Left 4 Dead 2, which seems to be more of the same as Left 4 Dead. Yawn. Intel have released the Core i7 CPU to a waiting press-pit filled with f**k all. I haven't seen a single advert for it. This also leads nicely to another note of irritation that I have to air. Why are computer manufacturers flaunting RAM like it's the lifeblood of the computer? PC World are terrible for this. I can stick 4GB of RAM up an i486's backside and it will still crawl like a cockroach with one leg. RAM means nothing if the CPU is underpowered. *LOOKING AT YOU, CELERON* Also what's the fixation with 3GB? IIRC you can't run RAM in dual channel unless the total amount is a multiple of 2. Could be wrong on that.

Also a bit fed up of Apple claiming that Apps are only for the iPhone. Many Many others have been writing mobile apps since LONG before the iPhone was even thought of. The other platforms tend be a damn sight easier to program for as well. That said, I doubt many iPhone owners actually use the device to its potential because they have only bought it for the shiny Apple logo.

Windows Mobile 6.5 shows promise and might actually be a decent finger-based platform. I'm particularly fond of the Titanium today screen. Windows 7, on the other hand, seems to be taking a dive again. I noticed the same thing before with Vista. The early alpha builds (back when it was still called Longhorn) showed lots of promise, a worthy successor of Windows XP. Then when the betas arrived things started to go wrong, resulting in the terrible excuse for an OS that is today known as "Vista". Windows 7 appears to be doing a similar thing, just not quite as badly as Vista did. Oh well. It doesn't matter to me, as I'm now quite happy with Debian "Squid" (Squeeze/Sid), KDE4 (a very nice desktop environment, worth a look if you are into Linux) and Wine, which is now capable of running all of my Windows software with the exclusion of Source SDK, which I have to run in a small XP partition. No biggie.

I guess that sorta wraps it up for now. I shall try not to leave it this long again.

Ethan <-- Thats my proper name

PS: The recent MK/Lib Dem battle has been rather amusing.

Tuesday, 17 March 2009

Monthly roundup

The following has boiled my piss this past month:

1. Idiot American's thinking that the current recession will be over shortly. No. Just no. Go look in the history books. Then maybe you will realise how wrong you are. Failing that I just heard that you can fly as long as you jump off the top floor of the Empire state building. Go try it.

2. The perfoming rights society getting shitty with youtube. Please just fuck off.

3. The increasing hype over Windows7. Honestly guys. It will be a useless piece of shit, just like vista.

There's probably a whole stack of stuff I could mention, but I really can't be assed.

Thursday, 5 March 2009

Once again




Honestly

Please take note of the last post's author and dismally recent date of its posting.

Having finally managed to sync aforementioned device, I plugged it into a VM which had iTunes installed, and it was erased. I'm saying no more.

Wednesday, 4 March 2009

iPhail

Yep, YAABR(Yet Another Apple Based Rant)

iPods/iPhones/iDildos SUCK!

It's official.

I have just spend nearly 3 FUCKING HOURS trying to move some music onto an old iPod that I just found. Except that its corrupted. To fix it I need to restore it. To restore it I need to install iTunes. I'd personally rather lower my balls into a paper shredder. Who designed this fucktard stupid of software? It's total crap. It doesn't use standard Windows APIs, instead it seems to import half of OS fucking X just to run properly. This is probably also why it swallows 300mb of RAM just to play a fucking mp3.

Whoever designed the iPod firmware also needs to fornicate themselves with an iron pole. Every other player on the market can just be drag/dropped using explorer/konqueror or whatever and then it scans for new files when you unplug it. Simples *squeak*. Apple, however have decided that they needed to create a file structure that can't be manipulated by the user. At all. All bow down to the mighty iTunes.

If any of you lot think you're about to stride in and tell me I'm wrong here, then I sincerely say,

Fuck you

Thursday, 26 February 2009

Scout update.

So its scout update week for Team Fortress 2. Thanks to my chronic insomnia, I was around on the release time, so I hopped on a server and started to play. It was a balanced 32 player thing in the states. No class limits. HOLY FRACKING SHIT!!!! The entirety of the other team were scouts, which is truly a sight to behold as they all came over the bridge roof on CTF_2FORT. All snipers ran for it, but the pyros just stood, laughed and OWNED. Hehe. I love noobs.

.:UFF:. Hyde/Dark,

Saturday, 14 February 2009

I hate....

Valentines day.

In my book it's the worst day of the year. Watching everyone else run around with their other halfs, spending quality time together, loving each other/Whatever. This is the one day of the year where my life sucks.

On valentines day, it sucks to be single.

It's the only day when I actually feel lonely. I spend the rest of the year alone, but this is the only day when it actually hurts.

So fuck you, St Valentines. That's all. Fuck you. Thanks for ruining my day.


Dark,

Wednesday, 28 January 2009

Apple

Today's hate main is pointed squarely at the SMTP server of apple.com, or more specifically, their users.

I'm sitting in K139, Kenwyn, Truro College and there are 3 Apple laptops in the immediate vicinity (of about 15 people, its quiet atm). Whats really worrying is that ALL of them are VMing WinXP. Seriously, if you wanted a machine that ran Windows so that you could play all of your games/do whatever, then next time, just buy a FUCKING PC. Idiots. What a criminal waste of money. Paying all the cash for some Apple machine just because it looks nice. Faggots. The world is populated with SHEEP, or so it seems.

More to come on this later...

Dark,

Saturday, 10 January 2009

Yet more government based rants...

Good god, they're getting it bad.

Latest news: The government plan to keep details on the senders and recipients of all email going into and out of the country, on the promise that it will catch terrorists. Yeah, cos that's gonna work. "Ooooh, Mr Joe Bloggs sent an email to osama@bombtheblogosphere.com. We've caught a terrorist, hurr hurr." Yes. And? So did 7000 other wankers you great collection of muppets. Its called SPAM dumbasses. Seriously. How would it ever stand up in court.

"Mr Joe Bloggs sent an email to this address."

"What was in it?"

"We don't know, we don't store that." (Please note, that's not an invitation to store more data)

That's about as incriminating as walking past someone in the street. You know they saw each other and that's about it.

This is also going to be phishing galore. How naive does Wacqui Jacqui need to be to think that her 3rd party wont sell the details on? People will do anything for some cash.


Fortunately, all my email is encrypted and sent out of the country before it hits the mainline, so fuck you, Nu Labour.

Dark,

Sunday, 4 January 2009

Yet more government based rants

The government of this country is useless. Several things have shown this recently and here I begin to discuss them myself.

My first link comes from "Old Holborn", a blog full of common sense and good humour. http://bastardoldholborn.blogspot.com/2009/01/black-boys-continuing-to-fail-in.html

I'll give you 5 minutes to read that. It should only take about 60 seconds but with the state of the education system (particularly those leading it) I thought it prudent to give ample time for the victims of fail.

This absolute idiot is currently in charge of higher education, yet he can't even tell that 7 comes BEFORE 8. Thats absolutely unthinkable. I'm speechless. Make up your own bitter rant and insert it here.



The second thing that's pissed me off are the latest plans regarding obesity. http://uk.reuters.com/article/topNews/idUKTRE5011IP20090102

They're talking about regulating the amount of food that children are allowed to eat. How the HELL do they plan to do that?!?!?!?!?!?! You can control the amount they eat at school to some extent, but you can't control what they eat at home. This is also not a very good way of dealing with the problem in the first place. It's not really that kids need to eat less, they just need to do more. Make the feckers run for 5 hours a day, that'll do the trick.


The long and short of it is that this goverment seem to think that "if they don't do as we want us to, then we'll just force them, hurr hurr.

Just no. Piss off and leave us alone. You can control the corporations, thats fine, no-one will care, but you can't just try and force us into your will. That causes riots and civil wars. Personally I think we just bloody well hang the lot of them and start again.

In short; I've had about enough of them trying to cut off our heads and shit down our necks. Go away.

Dark,